First week caring for all four ALONE

Hey there!  We’re still here, and still alive.  In case you were wondering. Just to catch you up on the happenings around here lately:

All of the girls have recovered from the cough/cold from hell FINALLY.  I still have a lingering cough that doesn’t seem to be going anywhere.  Anyway, I thought we were finally out of the woods with the children, and then Rhea’s nose started running, and then she started sneezing, and finally she got a nasty little cough.  Nooooooo! I freaked out because I have never had a sick newborn before, and I knew the protocol was different from my usual take them in to see the doctor only if they seem really sick. So, I took her to see the pediatrician.  He said she has a little cold, but I need to take her to the ER immediately if she develops a fever. The other three girls all had fevers with this cold, so no pressure. I have been suctioning out her nose and having her sleep next to a humidifier and nursing her constantly.  Hopefully, this cold will be short-lived.  It lasted about three weeks for the other girls, and going on three for me. Ugh.

  
This week has actually been surprisingly lovely otherwise.  But only because I have the best friends and family in the whole world. Between the dinners, lunches, snacks, babysitting, and gifts, we have been completely spoiled this week. Let me tell you, running out of thank you notes is a wonderful problem to have. (Don’t worry, I ordered some more.) I am overwhelmed with gratitude for the wonderful people we have in our life. 

  
Up until this past week, we had been staying with my (ridiculously generous) parents. These saintly people endured lots of crying, messes, early mornings, and sleepless nights on our behalf. Ruth told my mom that she needed all of the blinds open in her room so that she could “see the world!” However, that also led to Ruth rising with the lark due to the sun shining into her room in the early mornings. Ruth also blithely walked in on an unsuspecting, unnamed relative showering, making the observation, “you’re naked baby.” (They always say naked baby because I like to exclaim, “naked baby! Naked baby!” whenever I see their cute little bare bums scurrying from their rooms to the bath tub.) Rosie had a poopy diaper and decided to change it herself on my mom’s new carpet. Ruth got so angry that she threw up on my mom’s new carpet. (Before we came to stay was apparently an ill advised time to get new carpets). And Rosie was suffering from some severe two year old attitude. One time, when she had moved out of my line of sight, I called out, “Rosie! What are you doing?” I heard her disembodied voice answer me angrily, “She a tiger!” “Fine!” I said, and amended my question. “Tiger, what are you doing?” Then I heard a series of growls and roars that I can only assume was Rosie answering me in tiger language. Well played, Rosie- I mean, Tiger.

  
Meanwhile, back home at the ranch, yesterday, I found an exploded (pee) diaper in the washing machine with the girls’ clothes. After the cycle had already run. Apparently, if diapers fill up with too much water, they explode fluff everywhere. Just a fun fact to know. How a dirty diaper snuck in with the girls’ laundry, I will never know. But that is a good example of how well I’m functioning these days. Oh well. I’ll function when the baby starts sleeping.  God makes them cute for a reason.

   
 

So you don’t kill them.

In other random news, I downloaded the app Kindara for my post partum NFP.  Do any of you use an app for your NFP? How do you like it? This Kindara thing seems pretty cool so far. It is easy to use and I don’t have to keep getting out a booklet and printing out sheets to chart. Ok, the kooky Catholic portion of the blog is finished.

 I’m finally enjoying nursing with this one. Just a quiet and calm moment to ourselves during the day. It is a welcome reprive from my otherwise busy days. Also, I see her getting chubbier and chubbier and can’t help but think to myself, “I did that!” I really regret not slowing down and appreciating nursing time with my other girls. I was always stressing about all of the other things I had to do that I couldn’t because I was stuck nursing the baby, instead of cherishing that time with them. And then when they weaned and got older, I really missed it. It helps that I am totally over the whole hiding in a room alone to nurse thing. Forget that. I am too busy, she needs to nurse too often, and quite frankly I am starved for (non-juvenile) company. I have already gotten some remarks that my nursing without a cover makes some people uncomfortable, and I am trying to be sensitive to that. I am just torn because it is the dead of summer and covers make the newborn way too hot. So I am trying to be as discreet as possible while still being active and included in things. Anyone know how to successfully juggle this?

I will be sure to continue keeping you updated on all of the banal events in our lives. Now, I’m off to stalk the profiles and feeds of the several friends who are expecting babies any day now!  Yay!

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to First week caring for all four ALONE

  1. Melissa says:

    Have you read Taking Charge of Your Fertility by Toni Weschler? Not the best title, but great book overall, I highly recommend it.

    Also, I’m glad everyone is better : )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashley P says:

    I use CM and BBT. But BBT is only good for letting you know AFTER you ovulate and when you are about to start your cycle lol. After my daughter, I did use the ovulation kits to be sure I was monitoring everything ok. I did buy a Lady Comp but returned it the day after it came in because I felt like I knew my body well enough on my own, but there are many Catholic women who swear by it and love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ashley P says:

    I used Kindara for a few weeks but then switched back to my good ole faithful chart lol I’m routine so I like my chart and things looking the same. What a super mom you are! I’ll be looking for advice when my third gets here haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      Yeah, these charts look very different from my paper ones and I have never used BBT. I don’t know. I might use CM plus BBT plus ovulation monitor. Overkill? ;p

      Like

  4. Cheryl says:

    I downloaded Kindara a few weeks ago but Im till bfeeding and cycles are screwy so we we’ll see if its helpful… or I’ll announce another baby! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      I’m in the exact same situation. But my cycles usually return after about 3-4 months PP so I am trying to be extra cautious. After Wren, though, it didn’t come back for seven months, which really threw me for a loop. We shall see with this one. So far, she is nursing a ton, so maybe it will take a while again.

      Like

  5. You are a rockstar! It’s so strange to see Wren in the pictures not being the baby! I’m pretty sure Will gave the girls some directions on how to destroy their grandparents’ home because…ahem. I can’t wait to meet Rhea! (Also, upon rereading this comment, I don’t think 75% of ones sentences should end in an exclamation mark.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      HA, I find that I tend to exclaim all my sentences in my comments too. It gives a false impression of how effusive I am in person. Our little rascals! It is a good thing they are all so cute.

      Like

  6. Kim Johnston says:

    You’re legit tough. Breastfeeding wasn’t even an option for me with IT2 because of the potential lack of sleep and the wonderful thoughts of my husband taking a feeding in the middle of the night. Again, I would like to offer to take Rosie off your hands if ever you need to downsize. Emerson and Rosie will get along well. As well as an alligator and a tiger can. Roar.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      Nah, I’m just cheap. Formula is the real liquid gold expense-wise ;p Your husband is amazing to help with those late nights! And yes, Em and Rosie would be bffs for sure!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

