The Moms we often forget

I always thought it was kind of silly that we call pregnant women “expectant mothers” or “moms-to-be.” As anyone who has been pregnant knows, we become moms the second that tiny little being starts growing inside of us. We nourish our children, watch out for them, help them grow, make decisions about them, and love them long before they emerge from the womb. As we eventually feel their rolls, kicks, pokes and jabs, we know that there isn’t merely the expectation of our child in there, but an actual child making his or her presence forcefully known. Heck, my children make their presence forcefully known way earlier than that with the debilitating nausea and fatigue, but we won’t dwell on that. 

I would like to take the opportunity to wish all pregnant mamas a very happy mother’s day. I see you hugging the toilet, passing out at inopportune moments, worrying about your unborn child, waddling around, swelling up like a balloon, popping Tums like they’re candy, already sacrificing so much for them by selflessly giving them your entire body so that they can grow and thrive, and I want you to know that this is your day too. 

I also want to take a moment to recognize all of the mothers who fulfilled their motherly duty too soon and already have children in heaven.  Whether you lost children to miscarriage, still birth, or beyond, I see you too. I myself have three little saint babies that I desperately hope to be reunited with some day. You are very special mothers and always will be. This is very much your day, and I want to wish you a very happy mother’s day. I wish I could send each and every one of you the most beautiful bouquet of roses. You deserve it.

To all of the women aching to have a child, but have yet to have that earnest desire fulfilled, I see you too. You have made the momentous decision to become a mother, and that is no small thing. You also possess the secret that most of us do not have, namely, that children are blessings that should never be taken for granted. On this day you are not forgotten, and you are in my thoughts and prayers.

I know some people believe that this is a silly Hallmark holiday, but I think it serves a very important purpose. We, as imperfect humans, tend to forget to set some time aside to be grateful for those around us if left to our own devices. So having days to remind us to do so is a wonderful thing, I think. 

Happy mother’s day to my own mother, the woman who cared for me and my siblings, gave me the gift of my faith, and has been an excellent example of motherhood that I try my best to emulate with my own children.

Happy mother’s day to us all.  

 

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Moms we often forget

  1. morgan says:

    beautiful post!!! I hope you too had a lovely mother’s day!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Courtney says:

    this was great. and I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day! (with your feet propped up, of course) πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You said it right! Happy Mother’s Day

    Liked by 1 person

  4. spaleksic says:

    Happy Mother`s Day. What a touching post, I hope you don`t mind I shared it on my facebook page. I thought that it was great.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. beverley Baggett says:

    Amen to everything you said!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very beautiful post, Sylvia. Love the photo. Happy mother’s day.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ashley P says:

    So beautiful! Very well said πŸ™‚

    I know a lot of faithful people read this blog and I would just like to ask each person who reads this to stop and pray for a sweet young mom of 3 with one more on the way named Karris. This Mother’s Day will not be like any other she has had, she is burying her 32 year old husband tomorrow who died in a crop duster crash this week. Please pray for Karris, their four young children, family and for the soul of her husband Jed.

    Thank you Sylvia for being so inspirational even in your winding days of pregnancy. Happy Mother’s Day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

