37 Weeks and officially whale status

This week has been a bit rough. I feel roughly the size of a pregnant beluga whale (although Scott assures me I am still hundreds of pounds away from that goal because he is a stickler for the facts) and the thought of having 12 more days to go puts me in a foul mood. It is so weird, because I didn’t have this irritability with my other three pregnancies.  I am praying and fighting the inclination as much as I can, though. I think the girls are sensing my mood because the older two have been in foul moods as well. Add in a miserable teething/runny nose/inexplicable gagging Wren and we are a motley crew indeed. Thank God my mom and grandmother have been helping me out a ton lately because it is getting hard to move around and I’m trying to keep my feet up as much as possible to avoid all this terrible swelling.

  
I can’t believe I am even making this picture public.  All for the sake of the blog, my friends! Pregnancy really is a beautiful thing, my childless readers. Don’t let this picture scare you off. I’m, um, glowing on the inside.

My appointment with the newest doctor to the practice went well. She is really young and seems very professional and knowledgeable. She thought it should be fine for us to take a little trip this weekend an hour away to my grandparent’s farm for the girls to play and enjoy this beautiful weather. She just recommended that I head back immediately if I start having contractions. My blood pressure was great, same weight as last week (to be expected toward the end), Baby Lady is measuring 37 weeks exactly! I told them not to do the internal exam because I hate it and find it unnecessary. She was kind enough to agree. 

Next week is my final appointment! Ahhhhhhh! Mom says she is ready for the girls at any time. She has a few outfits and pajamas for them so that I don’t have to worry about having bags packed for the entire family ready to go at a moment’s notice for the next week or so (like we have enough clothes to do that anyway). I hope I inherited some of her genius. 

Other than the aforementioned maladies, the other girls are doing well. They love playing with bubbles or playing in the sandbox outside while mama relaxes with my feet up. Wren loves toddling around and putting everything in her mouth, foiling my plan to just relax with my feet up. We are anxiously awaiting the opening of my grandparents’ pool (it is regularly 90 degrees F here now) so that we can all cool off. Floating in a pool in your third trimester is heavenly.

   
  

Snuggle butt with my sweet SIL

   

Scott has been a great help, making sure I stay off my feet as much as possible. He even went above and beyond the call of duty and watched all three girls one evening so that I could attend an event. He sent me this pic of their evening together.

  
We finally have a name!  I’m so excited to announce it on her birthday. When a name feels right, we just know. 

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 37 Weeks and officially whale status

  1. Courtney says:

    I just want to say you look completely adorable. Honest. I miss the belly. I do remember the last couple weeks being the hardest though. You wouldn’t want to mess with me come week 38. Agree about the internal exam. I could care less what my cervix was doing. That could change in an hour anyway. Take another night away and get yourself a pedicure. I hear it’s the best! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Melissa says:

    Kudos to you for still wearing shoes!! By the end of my pregnancies with the girls I was just wearing flip flops, and with Matthew I was wearing running shoes without the shoelaces tied.

    Also, can’t wait to hear the name!! So exciting!!

    Also, I noticed that you’ve been blogging for a year now, and I was wondering, what do you think? What do you like/not like about it? What’s something that you wished you knew when you started that you know now? No worries if you aren’t able to answer, I totally understand. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      Yeah, I was able to wear flip flops with my other two summer pregnancies, but this time around the thongs are killing me. I wear some ankle boots to a high school reunion and everyone was like, “they’re unzipped” and I was all, “I know!” Blogging has been a pretty wild ride for me, but I have overall positive feelings about it. I went from talking to myself for a couple months, to having a random blog post picked up by HuffPo and go viral, to feeling like a failure when I couldn’t seem to keep up that kind of readership, to hating all of the cruel comments, to loving all of the wonderful mamas I have met through this blog, to refocusing and using this space as a place to remember this crazy time of motherhood that will probably seem to be a blur when they are older, to wanting to offer encouragement to fellow mamas, and hopefully learning something along the way.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Melissa says:

        Thanks for replying! I know you’ve got a ton going on, so I would have completely understood if you hadn’t. : ) I wish I had some advice for the swollen feet… but I have none. Just take care for preeclampsia.
        I really appreciated the perspective on blogging. I’m still so new to it, and I agree, there’s good and bad, but at the end of the day I value it as a way to give a voice to anyone in any circumstance. It’s amazing to think that just a generation ago mom’s didn’t have the presence they do now in participating in the mainstream. And I think you’re doing a great job of strengthening that community. I remember that post that went viral, and I remember reading it and reading the comments and having this Eureka! moment, I’m not alone!! Which is still a huge deal for me since having more than two kids, let alone three in a row, is very much against Manhattan culture.

        Anyway, thanks for blogging, and I hope these last couple of weeks go so smooth for you and your sweet family!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. morgan says:

    kudos for even taking a picture! I only have about 5 pics of each of my pregnancies because I just hated that state. My husband loved it though (he called me “blowfish” (beccause of my glasses. there’s a german phrase for someone wearing glasse called “being blind like a fish”. stupid). geee thanks!)
    Reading your first paragraph I get the feeling this *might* be your last pregnancy. You sound like you are totally over it.
    You are often in my thoughts – hope the rest of your pregnancy goes well. 90 degrees – wayyyyy above my comfort zone. Even not being pregnant at all. We had a couple of days with afternoons around 25°C (77°F according to google) and I was already sweating bullets in the sun. Kay, well I was also digging my vegetable patches so… :D)

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      I know it sounds crazy, but as much as I hate being pregnant, I really hope this isn’t my last (although I think I can be at peace with it if it is, haha). My husband LOVES it when I am pregnant too!! He has finally managed to convince me that he isn’t just humoring me and actually thinks I look lovely. I don’t see it, but hey, his opinion counts the most to me. I need to work up the energy to plant the girls’ carrots (I mean, have them plant their own carrots, hehe).

      Like

  4. loveh3 says:

    You look amazing & not anything like a whale. It’s great that you have an amazing support system : ) Good Luck at your next appointment, hoping the weekend trip is uneventful so you can enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kim Johnston says:

    I hate swollen feet with a passion. What’s worse is the swollen feet after the csection! 3 weeks from now it will all be a distant memory. You look stunning and really do pull off pregnancy well. Excited to hear the new lady’s name!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      Yeah, the nurses always giggle at my feet after my C’s because they look like chubby baby feet. I, however, don’t find them as amusing . . . Luckily they go away pretty quickly

      Like

  6. Sara says:

    You look wonderful (and I love those shoes) , the girls are just as adorable as ever… making me miss you all even more, can’t believe you’re already 37 weeks, Scott is da-bomb.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

