29 Weeks and still a hot mess

Ok, I think I have filled my quota of whiny posts of late, so I am going to try and keep this as upbeat and positive as possible.  

Had my OB appointment today with my glucose screening.  Since it was the glucose screening, they scheduled it for an obscenely early time.  9:30 am.  I know, that doesn’t sound that bad.  But in get myself and three little people ready and drop the children off at my mom’s house time, that might as well be 7:30 am.  Throw in a daylight savings time hangover, and it might as well be 6:30 am.  All of the girls were still dead asleep when I finished getting myself ready, and none of them were happy about me waking them up.  While I was getting the other two ready, Rose was desperately trying to climb back into her crib while wailing, “I want to go back to sweeeep!!”  Me too, hun. I finally loaded the three wailing children into the van about fifteen minutes before I needed to be at my appointment. Perfect.  (How am I doing on the upbeat and positive thing so far?)



Obligatory doctor’s office bump selfie

Luckily, my OB’s office was very kind about me being late.  Without further ado, they handed me the horrible orange soda drink and I was instructed to drink it in five minutes and then hang around for an hour.  This was the first time I actually drank the dang thing in five minutes.  Nerves, perhaps?  I got to see my wonderful OB and she said everything looked great.  Baby lady’s heartbeat was holding steady at 150 and I was measuring 28 weeks exactly (which was weird because my bump looks huge to me.  I guess I’m just short.)  I told her I was getting heartburn from hell (seriously, it kept me up all night last Saturday night and I have been basically eating bread and dairy since then.)  She recommended Nexium for some relief.  Then, I went to have some blood drawn and my dTap vaccine.  This is the fourth year in a row I have gotten the dTap.  Apparently, they recommend you have it with every pregnancy.  Both of my arms are going to be useless tomorrow.



I should consider using Ruthie as my photographer again to cut down on these selfies.

The only bad news they had at my OB appointment was that my iron levels are low.  That explains my total lack of energy.  I was surprised because I have been eating a ton of cereal lately.  So, they gave me some iron supplements.  I went to my mom’s to pick up the girls and take them home for all of our naps.  I was experiencing a major sugar crash and needed to lie down ASAP.

Next week is my second appointment with the perinatologist to do another high res ultrasound to check on Baby Lady’s heart.  I am praying that her heart still looks good!  I’m so excited to see her sweet face again.  I have been feeling some pretty intense kicks up in my ribs and lungs, so perhaps she is head down already!  

Also hoping that I pass my glucose screen.  

This past weekend was lovely, though.  We had some beautiful spring weather and celebrated my Abuelo’s 87th birthday.  He has moved mountains in his 87 years.  He  grew up in Cuba during the Great Depression and World War II, married the love of his life, moved from Cuba to Atlanta to study to become a vascular surgeon, became a refugee when the Cuban revolution took place in 1959, had five beautiful girls, was the best vascular surgeon in Atlanta (in my humble opinion), traveled the world with his wife, and is the proud grandfather to 13 grandchildren and 3 (soon to be 4) great grandchildren.  He is also a true inspriation for my Catholic faith, having a conversion moment himself when he was a young man in Cuba and joined a Catholic men’s group called the Agrupación.  He is still close friends with some of the men from that group.  Feliz cumple, Papa!







How did I do?  Not exactly the rosiest post I have ever written, but I ended it on a good note.  Here is to spring time and sunnier days! 

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 29 Weeks and still a hot mess

  1. God bless you for agreeably getting that 4th Tdap in a row. I know it hurts. But I just sat through a pediatric immunization conference that gave the the most recent study information on that very topic and it IS SO worth it to protect your sweet new baby who can’t protect herself from preventable disease!! Good job mommy!! And you look amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Feel you on the vaccine mama, they make your arms hurt so badly! But it helps baby build some immunity while in your belly so alas, the things we do for love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      I know! The girls keep trying to snuggle on me, and I have to keep saying, “be gentle with mama’s arm!!” But I totally agree with you. Me having a little arm soreness is infinitely preferable to my infant dying of whooping cough.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. dsudatta says:

    I think I love your blogs most because they’re like a slice of life, very genuine, instead of trying to sound too sweet, too sugary, and in the process sound totally unreal.
    It was wonderful to hear about your grandfather. Your pride comes through in your writing. Snippets like these make it worth and so much more. Can’t wait for the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Time change hangover–yes!! We had a bad one today. Iron! Oh man, have I had a tough time with iron. Take it! Post notes all over your house reminding you. Not taking it almost did me in! You’re doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Melissa says:

    Aw, spring and sunny days.. We had one today! Kind of… maybe this will make you laugh, or at least smile for a minute?

    http://manhattandouble.blogspot.com/2015/03/the-great-thaw-of-2015.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      Aha! I’ve been looking for your blog! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Melissa says:

        Thanks! That means a TON to me, especially since your blog is one of the ones I really follow and one of the reasons I started my own blog. I’m still really new to it, but I like how it’s going and I feel like I’m learning something all the time.

        Looking forward to your next post!

        Liked by 1 person

      • sylcell says:

        Thank you so much! Looking forward to following along! So good to read about other “stair step” children mamas. Makes me feel much less alone in this wonderful craziness;)

        Like

  6. katylady says:

    First of all, you look lovely, your bump is adorable! And ohhhh, I understand the drama of getting yourself and multiple (girl) children up, dressed and out the door. And when your energy is low and that evil heartburn disrupts your sleep… Ask me how many 7:45 OB appts I was on time for this last go-round. ( Answer: Zero) Fun fact: Apparently they push the tDap while you’re pregnant because it gives the baby some immunity in utero. Thank you for sharing your Abuelo’s story, what an amazing life and an amazing family he has! You are so blessed to have grandparents still living, and how wonderful that your girls have a close relationship with them, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sara says:

    gosh, you’re just the pretties preggo ever

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

