Bumpdate: 23 weeks

These bumpdates are going to be spontaneous at best, because I have gotten some complaints from my family. Apparently, they feel weird recommending my blog to their friends and acquaintances if I have too many “selfies” on here. I thought about explaining to them the actual definition of a selfie, but then decided not to distract from their main point. Also, my male relatives have told me that my male readers would prefer not to read about the “gross stuff” associated with pregnancy and child birth. So, if any of my male readers with delicate sensibilities have mistakenly waded this far into a pregnancy post, I must say in the spirit of full disclosure that this is about pregnancy, but I will try to be discreet about the gross stuff.

2015/01/img_3191.jpg
I put on one of Scott’s shirts and belted it. When Ruth saw me come downstairs in this outfit, she said, “Mama, why are you wearing Daddy’s work costume?” These kids just don’t appreciate my bump styling.

23 weeks! Well, a few days shy, but who is counting? This is my fourth time making it to this point, after all. I remember with Ruth I used to obsess over those websites that told me how big the baby was and how the baby was growing and forming each and every week. With this one, I have to ask my OB how many weeks I am when I go to my monthly appointment. It is fun to still check those websites every now and then when I think of it, though!

Checkup: I had my monthly checkup last week. Baby’s heart rate was a solid 155, and I was measuring exactly on track. My OB had me checked through a blood test for an immunity to Fifth’s Disease, since apparently I will be pregnant during the peak season for it and it could potentially be harmful for Baby Lady if the other girls got it and gave it to me. Luckily, my test came back positive for an immunity, so I don’t have to worry about it. She said everything came back normal from the anatomy scan, and my fluid levels are completely normal this time around. Phewf! Next month, I get to do the blood glucose test. Cue the lukewarm “Yay.” I never can chug that junk in 5 minutes. I am always still nauseated at that point, and I do not like having my blood drawn. Oh well, I cannot complain too much. Anything to make sure Baby Lady is doing well. My OB wasn’t happy with my scar (she and everyone else in her practice never are) and she told me she could get me some special serum to make it better this time around. I told her not to bother. I have come to terms with it.

Symptoms: I keep trying to wean myself off of my anti-nausea medicine. I will not take it as I usually do when I first wake up, spend the whole morning throwing up, decide I actually need to feed, dress, and take care of my other three children, and finally take it so that I can keep some lunch down. I have had sporadic days here and there that I haven’t needed it, which is actually a vast improvement over my other three pregnancies. The round ligament pain is still bothersome, especially when I am trying to roll over in bed or lean over while standing up to put my boots on. I am also starting to get some extremely mild B-H contractions.

Movement: Finally lots of kicks! I felt movement the latest in my pregnancy with this baby girl. I was freaking out about it, but my OB assured me it was completely normal. She was transverse in the ultrasound, with the top of her head toward my right hip, and I feel lots of movement on that side. I guess she is punching me with her little fists? I always feel a lot of movement wherever their heads are. She especially has a lot of dance parties when I am trying to go to sleep at night. Grrrrrreeeeat. Can’t feel her from the outside yet, though. Looking forward to that! I know Ruth is going to love it. She is finally at an age where she can appreciate the fact that there is a baby in mama’s belly.

Thank you for all of your name suggestions! Our list has greatly expanded and we have a difficult decision to make in the next few months. We have decided to abandon all of our cumbersome rules, with the exception of the “R” name one. I am trying to branch out and look at a bunch of beautiful saints’ names and family names that I like. I just really love traditional names that have declined in popularity lately. We seem to be leaning more toward names of French origin, but I still would like to have some Spanish flair in there. We shall see!

Here are some comparison photos.

2015/01/img_3187.jpg
20-ish weeks with Wren (and a Ruthie photo bomb).

2015/01/img_3188-0.jpg
24-ish weeks with Rose (and 10 month old Ruth!)

I couldn’t find any photos where I am pregnant with Ruth except for one at the very end of my pregnancy, which is all for the good because I was TINY the whole time with her, and I would rather not depress myself;)

So grateful that this pregnancy has gone so smoothly so far, and praying that it continues to do so!!

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bumpdate: 23 weeks

  1. Rachel O says:

    I love reading your blog! I love you real openness about life’s joys and struggles. It helps me feel like i have company in this beautifully hard journey of motherhood. I wanted to tell you I had REALLy bad round ligament pain with my fifth baby, and I found that doing the yoga stretch Cat and Cow for a few mins couple times a day really helped. It also helped the minor sciatic pain i would get towards the end. I hope you continue to feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      Thank you so much! And really? Interesting. I should take to Youtube and look those positions up. Putting my shoes on without pain these days is becoming quite the acrobatic struggle. But at least I can still reach my feet!

      Like

  2. Ask your doctor if you could do the jelly bean or coca cola glucose yest ๐Ÿ™‚ I did jelly beans, they were a little easier to keep down than that awful drink! Yay for growing baby!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karianne Fimland says:

    Hi. I love following your blog. I am myself a mommy of 3 …soon to be 4. Ages. 9. 7. 3. And 16 weeks Baby bump. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I saw you wrote that you take antinausea meds. I have been dealing with same problem (and still am). My suggestion is to go buy a pair of seabands. They are acupressure bands you wear on both wrists. Maybe they could help you get through the day without meds. I use mine all day, everyday. I take them off for short periods if they get uncomfortable and I need a break and if I sleep(although no danger to sleep with them, just nice to give wrists a break ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). I think you can get them pretty much anywhere near/in pharmacy section. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      I actually already have some. I used them with my last pregnancy to no avail. But hey, maybe it is time to give them another try! They irritated the heck out of me, but perhaps in comparison with horrible nausea and the horrible side effects to the meds, they won’t be so bad;) Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

  4. I’m glad I’m not the only one who had a hard time tracking the dates by my fourth pregnancy!! What are the age differences between your babes? They look to be about the same as mine are ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats!

    Like

    • sylcell says:

      Thank you! Gosh, I was having a hard time remembering how far along I was with my third! Pretty embarrassing. Ok, so Ruth and Rose are 13 months apart, Rose and Wren are 15 months (to the day) apart, and Wren and this one should be about 17 months apart. Apparently, I am not all that infertile while breastfeeding. Quite the opposite, actually. How far apart are yours?

      Like

  5. christywulz says:

    So glad this pregnancy is going so well. Way to go, Baby Lady!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

