Happy birthday, Little Bird!

Wren turns one today! It seems like only yesterday I was (largely and uncomfortably) pregnant with her. She is such a third baby, though. We were having a play date with some friends yesterday and when the other mom asked me when Wren’s birthday was, I thought about it and then said, in a shocked voice, “It is tomorrow!” It really snuck up on me.

We decided to have a small family birthday party for her next weekend, as we had an out of town 50th anniversary party for some dear relatives to go to today. I’m assuming Wren won’t hold this against us. She was very gracious about sharing her birthday with an anniversary party. She is such a little lady and the belle of the ball, as usual. She had her first trip to Cracker Barrel on the way there and ate her favorite: pancakes. So, I think she had a good day after all.

Milestones: She can finally pull up by herself! I can’t get enough of opening the door to her nursery and seeing her standing up against the rails of her crib and bouncing excitedly when she sees me. She is also holding our hands and walking around the house. She is extremely cautious like Ruthie was, and won’t take a step until she has both of her hands firmly grasping ours. She is also cruising. She started cruising at glacial speed, but is steadily getting faster and faster. She can also go back and forth between the coffee table and the couch. She still almost never crawls with her belly off the floor, but she can get up on all fours if she needs to pull up or go from prone to sitting up. I guess she will just skip crawling with her belly off the floor entirely. Little rebel. She can shake her head no and nod her head yes, and will do one or the other when you ask her a question. It is pretty hilarious because she does both emphatically. She still sleeps through the night like a champ, but will sometimes wake up in the middle of the night to talk to herself for a little while, and then go right back to sleep.

2015/01/img_3130.jpg

Likes: Real food (especially bananas), splashing in the bath, laughing and playing with her sisters, sucking her thumb, sleeping in her crib, dancing to music, singing along to songs, drinking her bottles, her Grandaddy, tearing apart magazines, walking around while holding our fingers, and playing with her sisters’ toys.

Dislikes: Her car seat, trying to sleep anywhere but in her crib (including in our arms), dogs, baby food, people eating without her, cardiologist appointments, and strangers holding her.

2015/01/img_3123.jpg

I vividly remember the day she was born. Moms who are expecting their second child ask me all the time whether they are going to feel the same way about their second child as they do about their first. And I understand the concern. Your world is turned upside down and your whole heart is filled to the bursting point with love and devotion when your first child is born, how could you possibly be so profoundly and deeply affected more than once in life? And then your second child is born, and your world is shattered (in a good way) and your heart explodes with love with just as much intensity the second time around. It boggles the mind.

Well, let me tell you. It happens all over again with your third (and I wouldn’t be in the least bit surprised if it happens yet again with our fourth). It most certainly happened to us again with Wren’s arrival. The whole time she was having breathing problems, Daddy never left her side. All four hours. Here is Daddy holding her for the first time. You can see the love and awe written all over his face.

2015/01/img_3128.png

They let me hold her briefly too right after she was born, even though she was having the “transition” breathing issues. I wasn’t allowed to feed her, but I tried to kangaroo hold her as much as I could. She looked at me with her beautiful green eyes, studying her mama’s face with such intelligent intensity. Then she sighed and went right to sleep.

2015/01/img_3127.png

Happy birthday, sweet little Wrenna! Despite all of our scares with your heart condition and (possible) looming open heart surgery, you never cease to amaze us with your courage, your sweet disposition, and your ability to beat the odds. We love you so much, and we know God has great plans for you.

2015/01/img_3131.jpg

2015/01/img_3132.jpg

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Happy birthday, Little Bird!

  1. This was a wonderful post. Brought me to tears. I honestly can’t imagine feeling that much love for another little human being. My heart will just have to grow a little bit more to keep from bursting. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to have another one. I just wish by then I will be able to be a stay at home mom. I hate leaving my little guy to go to work everyday. And weekends never seem like they are long enough at all.

    So enjoy all of your little moments with your amazing babies and keep sharing them so I can live vicariously through you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      I’m telling you, our hearts have this amazingly endless capacity to love. Power to you, mama, for going to work and doing what you gotta do. I feel for you. Praying that someday you will be able to stay home with your bub(s)!!

      Like

      • Thank you! I feel like such a shit for having to be gone all of the time. I know it’s what I need to do, but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s not what I want to do. One day though, one day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wren is such a little doll baby! Happy birthday, sweet pea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. morgan says:

    How many C-sections will they allow you to have?
    I just remembered a conversation with the american wife of a co-worker a couple years ago (I think it was summer 2011, at the end of my second pregnancy). She had three kids back then and told me she wished to go back to the States, because she wanted another baby and the doctors here said to her that after three C-sections they won’t do another one (or at least they strongly advised her NOT to get pregnant again) but in the States they would let her have another CS… did anything change?

    Cherish all the time you have with your little ones! Sometimes I think that I missed on so many things with my first two because I was always so stressed out that I didn’t really enjoy the time I had with them. Especially now when I see my youngest go through all those stages again. But then, maybe I just forgot those little things and IF I had another one I’d sit here in a couple years and wonder… (still going strong about three being my / our limit. But there are moments when one of us gets weak. Usually when they are asleep :D)

    Like

  4. Happy birthday little girl! And oh the car seat.. it does get easier πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cstockel2 says:

    Happy Birthday, Sweet Wren! Love, Grandma

    Like

  6. I LOVE babies. This brought tears to my eyes. Happy birthday, Wren! And yes, such a 3rd baby.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Boeta says:

    Happy birthday, wow 1 year…big girl now. So true about our exploding hearts and baby being born…nothing can really beat that. Such a wonderful blessing to experience it more than once, how I wish. Having said that, every moment is a blessing from that day forth and we as I know you too, are eternally grateful for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      I know, I wish we could have many many babies! But I have had so many C sections, I know this season in our lives is coming to a close and am saddened by it. But it really does make you cherish this time when they are little even more!

      Liked by 1 person

      • morgan says:

        How many C-sections will they allow you to have?
        I just remembered a conversation with the american wife of a co-worker a couple years ago (I think it was summer 2011, at the end of my second pregnancy). She had three kids back then and told me she wished to go back to the States, because she wanted another baby and the doctors here said to her that after three C-sections they won’t do another one (or at least they strongly advised her NOT to get pregnant again) but in the States they would let her have another CS… did anything change?

        Cherish all the time you have with your little ones! Sometimes I think that I missed on so many things with my first two because I was always so stressed out that I didn’t really enjoy the time I had with them. Especially now when I see my youngest go through all those stages again. But then, maybe I just forgot those little things and IF I had another one I’d sit here in a couple years and wonder… (still going strong about three being my / our limit. But there are moments when one of us gets weak. Usually when they are asleep :D)

        Liked by 1 person

      • sylcell says:

        It depends on the OB. Mine says she will just look at my uterus with each delivery to see how much scar tissue is there. If she thinks that it will be unsafe for me to get pregnant again, she will let me know. She says she has had patients have up to five! Yeah, I am glad that how many children we have is up to my body instead of me because that seems like too great a decision to rest upon me! Haha. And I am blessed that my husband loves having children as much as I do, because I know of some husbands that will not let their wives have any more than two and it saddens me. It is a cruel thing to tell a (married) mother that she is not permitted to have any more children when that is her heart’s most ardent desire. But I am going off on an unrelated tangent. I think your three are just precious. I’ll bet they are even more so when they sleep!

        Like

Leave a Reply

