12 Week Bumpdate

Cannot WAIT to be out of the first trimester. The second trimester is where it’s at, baby. Without further ado, my 12 week bump, as taken by my three year old photographer.
IMG_3215.JPG
The kid has a future in this photography thing, I think. I am looking forward to working with her for all these bump pictures.

Symptoms: Still have nausea all day and night, and need medication in the morning or I’m not going to be able to get out of bed. And I pretty much need to hit the ground running in the morning with my three. I can always hear Ruthie screaming from her crib (she is the earliest riser), “Mama! I’m awake!” Yes, our three year old is still in a crib. She has never even tried to climb out of it. Probably going to transition her out of it soon though so that she can go to the bathroom in the morning and transition her out of the night diaper, if she is ready. Anyway, I’m off topic again. I am ridiculously fatigued, but it is nice to fall asleep at night the minute my head hits the pillow. Also, the round ligament pain gets worse and worse with each pregnancy. Sneezing is now the most painful thing ever. I’m sure the look of sheer panic on my face when I realize I have to sneeze is amusing to behold.

Size: That awkward stage where I look like I just ate a really big meal. I’m in my fat pants and still wearing regular shirts. I’ll probably have to switch to maternity clothes soon just for comfort’s sake. Too bad it is cold out and I can’t just wear flowy summer dresses. I much prefer the stage where I have a discernible bump and people know I’m pregnant and not just vaguely plump. If this is anything like Wren’s pregnancy, the bump will be here before I know it. In the meantime, I am just enjoying being able to sleep any way that I want.

OB appointments: We had our first appointment a few weeks ago where we had the ultrasound. Everything looked good, the baby was in the right place, and we got our due date nailed down. I have my next appointment next week where it will just be your basic listen to the heartbeat appointment. I always refuse all the unnecessary tests in the first trimester, so that makes the appointments simpler.

Here is a picture to compare back when I was 12 weeks pregnant with Wren:

IMG_3240.PNG
That was in the summer, so I was able to take advantage of the dresses. Oh well, I will be large and in charge this spring, so I will definitely appreciate being able to wear dresses then.

Thank you all for the warm response on my announcement of this pregnancy! I was always a bit anxious as to how people will treat me during my fourth (full term) pregnancy because of this experience , but so far everyone has been so congratulatory and supportive. I love this community. Looking forward to feeling kicks and finding out if it is a boy or a girl!

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to 12 Week Bumpdate

  1. blessedlittlemama says:

    Love pregnancy updates! Sorry you are not feeling well, I hope the 2nd trimester brings better things. You look wonderful by the way, such a cute little belly! 🙂

    Like

  2. Very exciting! I definitely felt the best in my second trimester, and a few weeks into the third hit the inevitable wall again.. but at least by then you’re counting down instead of up 😉

    Like

  3. Kia says:

    Congrats! I hope you feel better. I’m 12 weeks as well 🙂 I’ve recently started blogging about my pregnancy over on ComeWagAlong.com. I followed you so hopefully you can do the same. I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

    Like

  4. morgan says:

    cute bump. and great photographer! reminds me to buy a new “cheap” camera, since our last one died for reasons unknown (really). I don’t want to hand my SLR to my kids (although they LOOOOVE taking pics with it)

    I cross my fingers that that dreaded sickness will come to an end soon. That’s something no one needs. Seriously, what was that for? Keeping women from having sex in the first place?

    Like

  5. annaethain says:

    Definitely a photographer in the making! You look fab! 🙂

    Like

  6. Congrats again! I hope you strt feeling better soon. Yay for big families!!!

    Like

  7. Boeta says:

    Well done, must be a little more fun with the photographer added. You look great. Good on you for nailing a few rude people too, shame on them.

    Like

  8. Holly says:

    Congrats. 11 weeks today for me. Bring on trimester 2 and energy lol

    Like

  9. Marla says:

    Congratulations! You look great! And I agree, the 2nd trimester is definitely a blessing from God. ☺ I hope you start feeling better soon!

    Like

  10. mamajohnston says:

    Four sounds nice! I’m always surprised people get negative reactions when they have a lot of kids. When I was pregnant I got lots of help and congratulations! From complete strangers! I can’t wait til I’m pregnant again 🙂

    Like

  11. Sara says:

    yay bumps! You look beautiful. Hope you start feeling better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

