Things I love about being a young(ish) mom

I feel like people are deciding to start having children at more and more advanced ages these days. It makes sense. If you want to go to college and graduate school, you aren’t even financially independent until your mid to late twenties! And then, most women would like to at least experience what the working world is like for a few years (or more) before they start having children. Seriously, the way our society is set up, the time when women can most easily have children is when most of us are in positions completely unfavorable to child rearing. I guess for people who never wanted more than one or two children (and who am I kidding, that must be a lot of people) that is all well and good. But for those of us who always wanted big families, it is a bit of an obstacle.

My husband and I had our first child when I was 27. In the grand scheme of childbearing years, that is not really all that early. But I have been EXTREMELY fortunate in being able have children. I don’t take that for granted. You think before you start having children that you will just decide to get pregnant, come off whatever birth control you are using, and get pregnant right away. And for some it is that easy. But for a lot of us, we come to realize the brutal reality of miscarriages, still births, infertility, health problems with our babies and high risks with our pregnancies. On the flip side of the coin, some of us became young mothers more by pure happenstance than by design as we come to realize that all birth control methods have a built-in failure rate. Some of our roads to our babies are a struggle, but our children are worth all of it and more.

Anyway, to lighten the mood a bit, I love being a young (by today’s standards) mother. I only practiced law for a very short time, but I do not regret my decision to do this mom thing instead one bit. I have enough energy to run around after all these littles. My husband and I will still be in our forties (barely) when our last one goes to college. (Although given my family’s record, perhaps I shouldn’t count on that one). If, God willing, we ever become grandparents, we will still be young energetic grandparents. My children have young grandparents, and it is such a blessing to both my children and our parents. They run around with the children, can watch them whenever I need, and are just all round fun. I grew up with young grandparents too, and some of my fondest memories are swimming and taking walks in the woods with my grandmother, and scooting around on Razor scooters and dancing the Macarena with my Abuela. I see the longing look in the eyes of my parents’ contemporaries when I take the girls to go see my parents’ tennis matches and the girls run squealing into Abueyay and Grandaddy’s arms. Not very many of them have grandchildren yet, and I can tell they can’t wait. Heck, I singlehandedly won my mother the most grandchildren award at her college alumni dinner with my whopping number of three.

I love my circle of fellow moms. I feel like I have been inaugurated early into a group of the most exceptional women I know. They are an infinitely welcoming group that is always ready with a complete dinner dropped off at your door or an exquisite new outfit for your sweet newborn. They are constantly (and sincerely!) offering to watch the girls so that I can get stuff done or just collapse into bed for a little while. They are quick with wonderful advice and never pass judgment. This goes for my mom friends that I see regularly as well as my Instagram and blogging mom friends. We help each other out and offer support and encouragement whenever it is needed.

I am going to have to pave my own way, as there aren’t many moms that I know personally who can offer me real-time guidance on things like education, and childhood development, but that is ok. I always knew I was going to be doing my own thing that might be the road less traveled. It is very important to me that I do things not because everyone else is doing them, but because they are what is best for my children. So it is probably best that I am trailblazing. I will have fewer people looking at me askance and second guessing my decisions.

My youngest is mobile now, so I am going to need all of this youthful energy I can get. At least, whatever is left after this little baby in my belly saps me. Which, amazingly, is always just enough to get the job done. Now, if you will excuse me, I am going to go to bed. We thirty year olds with boundless energy need our beauty sleep. But it is most certainly not because I am about to fall asleep on my feet!

IMG_2922.JPG

About sylcell

Wife, mom of four girls, Catholic, insatiable sweet tooth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Things I love about being a young(ish) mom

  1. Lovely post and I definitely agree with all of your points. I had my first at 21…almost 22 and felt that we both shaped each other. She shaped me dramatically as a mom, as I feel that in hindsight I was almost a kid back then in the process of growing up. Although I really don’t feel any older, I do feel I have more experience now.

    Like

    • sylcell says:

      We are only as old as we feel! When I am pregnant, I feel about 83. You truly were a young mom! You are so inspirational to unselfishly devote yourself to another little being at such a young age!

      Like

  2. morgan says:

    Great post. And so interesting!!!!!!!! That really changes my view of mothers overseas. From the information we get I always assumed that people in the U.S. a) get their kids earlier than here and b) get more kids.
    I’m also a “young” mom with my first being born shortly after I turned 28. From all the students (there were 73) in my Abitur-class (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abitur) I was the third or forth one to have a kid. I think I still hold the record of “who’s got the most kids”.

    So and now three days after I started my response, I totally forgot what I wanted to write… Hello Alzheimers…

    Looooove that pic of Wren. Sooo cute, especially with her finger in her mouth (I love when they do that, they look sooo cute)

    Like

  3. I wish we lived closer to each other. I have a feeling we would be good friends. 🙂 I just had my ten year class reunion this year. I was surprised how many of my high school classmates were only just starting their families, whereas I had just had my sixth. I think you’re right and most people today put off having kids until mid-thirties. I’m tired as it is now. I can’t imagine how much more tired I would be then, LOL!

    Like

    • sylcell says:

      Me neither! I have zero energy now! I was one of maybe three people at my ten year reunion that had two children, but when my fourth is born I will officially have the most children in my high school graduating class! They must think I’m crazy, but I am loving it! And yes, we would be good friends and I would be texting you and asking you questions all. The. Time 😉

      Like

  4. Alana says:

    Love any post that reminds us to count our blessings. I actually LOL’ed at your “Given our track record…” comment. Sigh. We are lucky to be relatively young moms, but old enough that we were ready. Great post!

    Like

  5. I like being a young mom too. I had #4 at 33, and since I still look relatively young, I always enjoy the look of surprise on people’s faces when they hear I have 4 kids. Ha! They’re like, “What? How is that possible?” But it’s possible because I started at 24, which really is early these days. When Joshua started school, I made friends with all his friends’ moms and got to enjoy being “the young one.” Unfortunately, with my younger two, I have lost that title. 🙂 But it was fun while it lasted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sylcell says:

      I wonder if I will be the young one if the girls go off to school? It will be interesting to see. I definitely won’t be the young one when my friends and family members start having babies, because I have been the first!

      Like

      • I was the first too. I’m still younger than some of them, but I have the oldest kids. i also have to bite my tongue to try to keep from giving too much advice. Ha! That can be hard!

        Like

      • sylcell says:

        I know! Me too! I’m SO guilty of rolling my eyes at moms of only one or two children writing baby advice blogs. (Because I have it all figured out at my giant number of three) Or every time someone writes a baby related post on Facebook, I have to hold back on writing a book on their wall in reply. If there is anything this motherhood gig should have taught me, it’s that pride comes before the fall!

        Like

      • Haaaaa! Yes. Agree. Agree.

        Like

      • morgan says:

        Sometimes I catch myself doing that eye-rolling, too. I have to remember myself from time to time that back then, when I only had one kid, I thought my live was exhausting. And it was! Because I had only that kid and he wanted all my attention. Now that I have three they keep themselves pretty busy without my intervention… not that I’m always too happy about that 😉

        Like

      • sylcell says:

        I know! With only one it WOULD be easy . . . . If only you knew what you were doing. But it is your first, so you don’t! Just the way it goes.

        Like

Leave a Reply

